(Copied from an IOGCC brochure)


    Who We Are

      The Commission, representing the governors of 30 member and seven
    associate states, works to ensure our nation's oil and natural gas
    resources are conserved and maximized while protecting health,
    safety and the environment.
      Established by the charter member states' governors in 1935,the
    Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission is the oldest, largest and
    most effective interstate compact in the nation.

    What We Do

    The IOGCC:

    *  Provides governors of member states with a clear and unified voice.

    *  Serves as the authority on issues surrounding domestic oil and
    natural gas.

    *  Assists member states in balancing a multitude of interests through
    sound regulatory practices.

    *  Stands dedicated to securing domestic resources needed so that all
    Americans can maintain their quality of life.

    *  Promotes the conservation and efficient recovery of domestic oil and
    natural gas resources,while protecting health, safety and the environment.

    Organizational Structure

      In 1935, six states endorsed and Congress ratified the Interstate
    Compact to Conserve Oil and Gas, resulting in the formation of the
    unique governmental entity now known as the Interstate Oil and Gas
    Compact Commission.
      Since that time, states have established effective regulation of
    the oil and natural gas industry, assisted by IOGCC programs designed
    to gather and share information. This dialogue takes place primarily
    during IOGCC meetings, held biannually at sites across the United States.
      Each member state holds one vote, exercised by the governor or
    delegated to the state's official representative or associate
    representative. Gubernatorial appointees offer their expertise to IOGCC
      State contributions fund IOGCC operations, while projects may be funded
    through grants. The IOGCC does not accept petroleum industry funds for
    its operating expenses.

    IOGCC Committees

    Energy Resources, Research and Technology
    Environment and Safety
    Legal and Regulatory Affairs
    Public Lands
    Public Outreach
    State Review

    Steering Committee
    Finance Committee
    Resolutions Committee
    Nominating Committee

                              Member States
    Alabama (1945)         Alaska (1957)          Arizona (1955)
    Arkansas (1941)        California (1974)      Colorado (1935)
    Florida (1945)         Illinois (1935)        Indiana (1947)
    Kansas (1935)          Kentucky (1942)        Louisiana (1941)
    Maryland (1959)        Michigan (1939)        Mississippi (1948)
    Montana (1945)         Nebraska (1953)        Nevada (1955)
    New Mexico (1935)      New York (1941)        North Dakota (1953)
    Ohio (1943)            Oklahoma (1935)        Pennsylvania (1941)
    South Dakota (1955)    Texas (1935)           Utah (1957)
    Virginia (1982)        West Virginia (1945)   Wyoming (1955)

                              Associate States
    Georgia (1946)         Idaho (1960)           Missouri (1995)
    North Carolina (1971)  Oregon (1954)          South Carolina (1972)
    Washington (1967)

                         International Affiliates
    Alberta (1996)                        British Columbia (2002)
    Egypt (1999)                          Republic of Georgia (2001)
    Newfoundland and Labrador (1997)      Nova Scotia (1997)
    Venezuela (1997)